Sri Swami Satchidananda on Jnana Yoga

Integral Yoga is made up of six branches of Yoga: Hatha, Raja, Jnana, Karma, Bhakti, and Japa. As part of Global Garland, we will focus on one branch each month. January’s focus is Hatha. Here are some words from Sri Swami Satchidananda on Hatha Yoga:

Satchidananda Jnana Yoga

Question Yourself

“You are neither the body nor the mind, but something different from that. You say, ‘My mind is going crazy,’ or ‘That blew my mind.’ That means, you know that you are different from your mind. This is what is called Jnana Yoga, the path of realizing the true Self. Constantly detach yourself. Sri Ramana Maharshi always questioned, ‘Who is hungry? Who is thirsty? Who is unhappy? Who is upset? Who has that desire? Who wants to do this?’ Question yourself always. Then you will know that there is something that urges you to do all these various things. When you recognize that something is doing everything and you are the witness, that is sahaja samadhi. That is the state of Self-realization.

“Om Shanti, Shanti, Shanti”
—Sri Swami Satchidananda

Swami Ramananda Signature

2016-10-15T01:46:09+00:00 March 9th, 2014|Comments Off on Sri Swami Satchidananda on Jnana Yoga